I am Malala

I am going to start, where I said I would, with a book review. Now I have read a fair share of books but it made sense to write about the last meaningful book that I have read. This happens to be an incredible semi-autobiographical novel called I Am Malala. It was written by a young woman by the name of Malala Yousafzai with the help of Christina Lamb. Malala is a Pakistani girl who is younger than I am. She is an education activist and was shot by the Taliban in 2012. Her story was remarkable but I don’t think the point of a book review is to summaries the story but rather to portray what the book did to the reader’s soul as their eyes took in the physical words off the pages. I found it strange reading the book. I’ve read stories of similar themes but they were fictional and not set in a time which I live in. It was also disconcerting reading a story written (with help) by someone younger than I am. I’m not naive. I understand that bad things happen in the world every day but it was still uncomfortable for me to be reminded so beautifully and perhaps the word would be ‘peacefully’ of the horror of this girl’s world. Part of me just didn’t want to accept that a human being could shoot a child for wanting to better her education. I don’t say this to put anyone off the book. I intend to do the opposite and encourage that you read it but it was a strange feeling that gripped me while soaking in her story. My mind really had to grapple with the idea of humanity when reading this.

The other thing that really struck me was my ignorance of the situation in Pakistan. I think the rest of the world (or at least what I am exposed to) gets distracted by the terror and American destruction in surrounding areas. The real issues that people in Pakistan and other countries get ignored and glossed over. I was truly shocked at how little I knew about the country and the huge problems it faces. Gosh I didn’t think the Taliban was there. When I heard Malala’s story on the news I thought she was from Afghanistan. I am truly sorry for this error. Another thing, which I have experienced in other similar books, was that Malala taught me about Islam. She speaks with such faith and honour about her religion and even though the Taliban shot her for the very same religion she holds no hate only respect for what she believes in. It’s incredible what this kind of book can teach you about perspective.

On the part of the actual writing style and form of the book I suppose I should say something. It’s not complicated or ground-breakingly poetic but it is honest and understandable. It will make you smile and laugh and cry and shout out of anger. It is so truthful. I have never before felt like I truly understood the author of an autobiography so well. Maybe it is because we are so similar in age but to read a book about a child’s life written by someone so young… there are no words to describe it.

One thought on “I am Malala”

Leave a comment