Teenagers know everything.

Contrary to what the title suggests I don’t actually believe that teenagers know everything. It may be hard to believe me considering that I am a teenager and it is rare to hear us admit this but it is true. I understand that I am opinionated but I love learning from others both young and old and exploring new knowledge that is exposed to me. What I do think (and I think I’d go as far as to say know) is that adults love to say that teenagers think they know everything. It is the generalisation of our era. And you know that I really hate it because often its used as an excuse. See I have often participated in discussions and debates with adults and when I throw them a curveball, something they don’t expect, can’t explain or challenges the way they think they dismiss me because its that easy. All they have to say is that I only think I know what I am talking about because I am a teenager and thats what we do and then obviously they laugh in a slightly nervous manner. What can I say? If I call their bluff and say they are wrong I fall straight into their hands and they along with their buddies can laugh at me. That technique is as futile as a baby’s fits against its mother. And if I ask them to simply try look at it from my point of view its out with the “you have no experience of the real world because you are just a child” excuse. A child! I’d like to think that the world in which a child lives counts for something otherwise the last 18 years of my life have been a complete waste of my time and as for the “child” comeback. Although I admit I am a child when it is said in this context it is not intended merely as an observation but more a low blow through which these adults can be patronising.

Please understand I am not trying to generalise here I have also had some brilliant debates with my elders in which they have taught and learned from me new things and where mutual respect exists. I believe fully that it is possible to have intellectual and positive discussions between people of varying ages. What I am trying to achieve in this blog is not to have a good old rant because I’m in the mood but rather to ask that as an adult if you (and I) ever have the urge to disregard someone younger than yours opinion PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE don’t do so. Even if they are wrong try and teach them this rather then aiming to bring their self-esteem down. I owe my success not to those who mocked me but rather to those who helped me and I also hold those of a more positive outlook in higher respect to those who have dismissed me.

One thought on “Teenagers know everything.”

Leave a comment